Home » Uncategorized » Week 11: Countdown to Unprocessed Foods

Week 11: Countdown to Unprocessed Foods

healthy but no diet

Week 12 Recap: Avoiding Fried and Fast Foods

Fried food, for me, was the difficult one this week; when I moved to the South I did not take up eating all the fried vegetables I encountered so that was never an issue for me, personally. I did try them and I did learn I liked them but, for example, I now bake my okra with oil, herbs, seasonings for flavor, until they are crispy but still tender to eat, instead. So what fried food(s) got me? Donuts. Donuts are my culprit- and here I am, like many of you probably, trying to curb the sugar in my life. Donuts aren’t something I eat every month but if every 3-4 months my husband or I perk up and say “Let’s get donuts- it’s been awhile”, I have trouble saying no. I wanted to try to get a ‘healthier’ version of a donut- don’t ask me what that would include exactly ha!- but I thought I’d try Whole Foods instead of the other grocery stores because I have seen their nutritional labels. Whole Foods does not carry donuts because, I am told, they are considered unhealthy. So, we ended up with having 1-2 donuts from somewhere else and I regretted it feeling later that I could have made a better choice. I’m sure I’m not the only one who has felt this way. What does that mean? It’s just motivation to make better choices next time- as I tell my patients “It’s a choice that you just make one meal at a time”.

Oven-Baked Okra

  • In a bowl, drizzle okra with olive oil or an oil that you are comfortable heating to 400 degrees Fahrenheit
  • Season with salt and pepper, as desired
  • Add in other herbs or spices, as desired
  • Place on baking sheet in a thin layer
  • Heat in oven at  400 degrees Fahrenheit for 30-45 minutes; occasionally turning over.
  • Check your oven temperature and time of cooking to find what works best for your taste preference, of course; it took a few tries and a separate oven thermometer placed inside our oven to find the ideal cooking time and temperature for mine to be the tastiest.

Week 11: Try Two New Whole Foods

I’m not sure if this will be easy or difficult. You see, I’m up for trying new foods when I encounter them. I’m not sure what I will come across in the coming week that I haven’t already tried but I’ll keep my eyes peeled and report back. Buddha’s hands have been on my list but they are really just like lemon zest from my understanding and that doesn’t sound adventurous enough. When I was a child, I wouldn’t touch Brussels sprouts but in the last year I have suddenly developed a craving for them and they are now part of my diet, if that counts. Figs are new to me also as the only time I encountered them growing up was in the form of “Fig Newton’s” which I did not like- and now I want to plant a fig tree in my yard! I’m pretty sure I saw white and purple asparagus in the grocery store recently and that is something I haven’t tried. I look forward to any suggestions.

After my Week 11 Recap, I will be taking some time off to focus on other topics. During that time, I am going to reset my eating pattern and make sure I am doing the first few weeks right; keep an eye out for other topics in January followed by the resume of my “14 Weeks to Unprocessed Foods”.

2 thoughts on “Week 11: Countdown to Unprocessed Foods

  1. Revolution Doughnuts has a low grain, low gluten doughnut that is actually AMAZING. When we do our doughnut run every once in a while, I don’t feel as guilty getting this one and it really is delicious!

    • Alisa- I do like Revolution Doughnuts in Atlanta, GA but it’s not very close to home. Keep an eye out for my recap as I came across something exciting (and something I wish I could have discussed with Whole Foods about why they *should* offer donuts)!

Leave a Reply

